"Eve with Abel"

1995. Toned plaster cast. h-35 cm.

This composition was one of the dozen versions of the central part of the project called “Eve the Progenitress, the hearth-keeper”.  I had first wanted to place it instead of the figure of the solitary pensive “Eve” that appeared later.

“Eve and Abel” were to stand at the threshold of their prehistoric “house” dolmen, the earliest of man’s constructions (it is made up of three large stones, two vertical “columns” and a “roof” lying on top of them).

In terms of style and form “Eve with Abel” is for me like the “antediluvian”, “prehistoric”, “earliest” Motherhood in sculpture. The search for the solution and style of the composition involved the learning of and constant dialogue with prehistoric and ancient art of different epochs and peoples including the art of the Paleolithic era, Ancient Egypt, Mesopotamia, Babylon, ancient Scythians, etc.

I just wanted to imagine how the prehistoric sculpture of Motherhood might be conceived by the eyes of the first artist “Adam” and implemented by his hands of the “prehistoric sculptor”. That was an exciting task.

But I was also searching for semantic and stylistic parallels that might link my “Eve with Abel” to the later images of “Motherhood” in the history of sculpture like the early medieval “Madonnas with Child” as well as with the monumental postmodernist plastic works of modern artists.

In any case, irrespective of the artistic result, for me that was a useful experience of solving the problems of “new form-shaping” to achieve “new meanings and content”.

I. Pomomarev

 


design: Milenkiy.com

Скульптор Игорь Пономарев
Скульптор Игорь Пономарев



"Ева с Авелем"

1995 г. Гипс тонированный. h-35 cм.

Эта композиция была одной из десятка вариантов, для центральной части проекта «Ева Прародительница – хранительница домашнего очага». Сначала я предполагал разместить ее вместо, появившейся уже позднее, фигуры одиноко стоящей задумчивой «Евы».

«Ева с Авелем» должна была стоять у порога своего первобытного «дома» - дольмена – первого древнего сооружения человека. (Это конструкция, сложенная из трех больших камней: двух вертикальных «колонн», и сверху горизонтальный камень – «перекрытие»).

По стилю и форме «Ева с Авелем» - для меня – это как бы предполагаемое «допотопное», «доисторическое», «самое первое» скульптурное «Материнство». Поиски решения и стиля композиции происходили в изучении и постоянном диалоге с первобытным и древним искусством разных эпох и народов. Это: искусство эпохи Палеолита, Древнего Египта, Междуречья, Вавилона, древних скифов, и др.

Мне просто очень захотелось представить: как могла бы выглядеть «первобытная» скульптура «Материнства», увиденная глазами первого художника – «Адама», и как бы выполненная им – его руками «первобытного скульптора». Это была – интересная задача.

Но так же я искал смысловые и стилистические параллели, которые могли бы связать мою «Еву с Авелем»  и с более поздними образами «Материнства» - в истории развития скульптуры. С раннесредневековыми «Мадоннами с младенцем», а так же и с поисками современных художников – в монументальной постмодернистской пластике.

В любом случае, независимо от полученных художественных результатов, для меня это был полезный творческий опыт погружения в решение проблем «нового формообразования», дающего «новые смыслы и содержание».

И. Пономарев

 


©design: Milenkiy.com